The AIJC African Investigative Journalist of the Year Award 2023

The AIJC African Investigative Journalist of the Year Award 2023

The AIJC African Investigative Journalist of the Year Award 2023

Every African journalist is welcomed to submit entries for the Inaugural AIJC African Investigative Journalist of the Year Award.

The African Investigative Journalist of the tear Award is offered annually to a journalist or media organisation for investigative work in Africa, it was first awarded in 2008.

The Award, supported by Absa, recognizes outstanding examples of investigative reporting from Africa that reveal untold stories, hold the powerful to account, question those in public life and serve the public interest. The prize is $5 000. The AIJC African Investigative Journalist of the Year Award 2023


The Award recognises the best examplar of investigative reporting from and about Africa over the year ending end-June. The Award can be made to a journalist or team of journalists working in any medium. It can be for a single story or a series of stories published or broadcast in Africa in the previous year.

Winners will be chosen by a panel of judges who have discretion to set and use criteria they consider to be appropriate and reasonable. They will take into account:

  • The originality of the story and the revelations it contains
  • The investigative work that went into it, particularly inventiveness and persistence or courage
  • The impact of the story, particularly in relation to public service

No individual journalist or organization can be part of more than two entries. Each entry may consist of no more than five stories.

ALSO TRENDING: The Mo Ibrahim Leadership Fellowships 2024 for Emerging Leaders


  • The Award is open to all journalists or teams of journalists working in any media for stories from and about Africa published or broadcast in African media between 1 June 2022 to 1 June 2023.


Complete the entry form and email the material listed below to

Entries must include:

  1. An electronic copy of the entry material as published/broadcast. If the original is reduced in size it must be accompanied by a readable Word/PDF version.
  2. A 100-word biography and high-res photo of each entrant.
  3. A high-res copy of the publication/broadcaster’s
  4. A short motivation for the entry (maximum 500 words), including any background the judges should be aware of, an indication of the impact of the story, and details of any significant challenge to the accuracy or fairness of the entry such as published letters, corrections, retractions, formal complaints or court cases. This motivation is critical and judges should be informed of the finer details that went into the investigation, for example, accessing hard-to-come-by documents or innovative problem-solving. The judges want to know the smart and hard work that went into the story, the risks taken, its originality, context, and impact.
  5. Broadcast entries must include a transcript and a short video clip of the story for publicity

Application Deadline: 15 September 2023.

The AIJC African Investigative Journalist of the Year Award 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like